top of page

The Greater Los Angeles Section has been in existence since 1943, under the name of the Los Angeles Section. We received our charter in 1944. We are one of the oldest Sections of the American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT).


Due to the enormous amount of aerospace work in Southern California from the 1940's through the 1980's, the Los Angeles section grew rapidly. So much so that two new sections eventually formed to accommodate the vast region and widespread membership. The Orange County section started up in 1966 and served the membership of, well, Orange County, until its dissolution in 1976.


The California Valley/Gold Coast section started up in 1976 and lasted until its dissolution in 1987.


In 1988, the Los Angeles Section became incorporated under the new name of ASNT-GLAS, Inc. (you guessed it, the Greater Los Angeles Section.) A couple of years later we achieved 501(c) (3) Non-Profit organization status, and the meager funds we raise to keep the section activities afloat are now tax-exempt.


The current Board of Directors of the GLAS would like to thank the many individuals who have donated their time, money, and energy to our historic and still vital organization.


Chairpersons, Officers, Directors, Committee Chairpersons, everyday Section members and so many others over the years have helped form the rich history that has helped shape the NDT community here in the Greater Los Angeles area. We are proud to be ASNT-GLAS.

"ASNT exists to create a safer world by advancing scientific, engineering, and technical knowledge in the field of nondestructive testing." ~ASNT Mission Statement


Download Constitution and Bylaws
Here's a copy of our charter!


Current Board of Directors


Officers and Directors:

Carmen Mejia, Chair

Justin Hilterman, Vice-Chair

Reza Bostani, Treasurer

Maurice Willis, Secretary

Vacant, Assistant Secretary

Rick Marquez, Immediate Past Chair

Fred Padilla, Educational Chair

Leif Backlund, Director

Michael De Leon, Director

Josh Spychalla, Director

Ricardo Inzunza, Director



Special Committee Chairs:

Brianna Buchanan and Jim Ellington and Robert Fenton and Dave Waitt, Golf

Cheryl Dufur, Holiday Party and Summer Banquet

Arnold Marquez, Membership

Paul Cole Padilla, Employment, History, Women's, Military and Veterans' Initiatives

Peter Pelayo, Website/Social Media, Speaks e-newsletter, e-Yearbook

Duane Schultz, Ventura County Meeting


Michael V. McGloin, Regional Director & National Liaison


Paul Cole Padilla, Interim Webmaster 



bottom of page